Take one step. Take another.

When students whimper about how hard writing is, I usually pull out my tissues and sniffle right along with them.

A quote I found in a post by Michael L. Umphrey, together with his photos, gave me a different way of thinking about that hard work.

“When I’m climbing, I don’t think of it as climbing a mountain,” Michael said. “I think of it as just walking. I’m just going to take a step. I’m going to take another step. Take another step. And pretty soon you’re someplace really cool. It’s not that hard just to take a step. ”

And so I write one sentence.

Write another sentence.

And another.

And pretty soon I’ve written a whole page.

It’s not that hard just to write one sentence.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching writing

Leave a Comment

