Education’s stakeholders— and everybody else

When I read news about education, I’m often struck by what is not said.

For example, when  I read tweets about education, I notice who they mention as the stakeholders of public education: parents, teachers, students. I also note who is not considered an education stakeholder: the people who are not parents, teachers, or students.

I find it odd that taxpayers who foot the bill for the services provided to parents, teachers, and students are not considered education stakeholders.

I find it odd that small business people who would hire employable local students are not considered education stakeholders.

I find it odd that active retirees who could provide volunteer support to parents, teachers, and students are not considered education stakeholders.

I may not be an education stakeholder by the definition used by educators, but I do notice that I’m being ignored.

And so do a lot of other non-stakeholders.

Leave a comment

Filed under Public schools

Leave a Comment

