When Learning Gets the Silent Treatment

Last week, a teacher I know slightly asked me what I’ve been up to. I said I’d just taken a wonderful course in Data-Driven Journalism that had opened my eyes to all all sorts of new (to-me) ideas and tools. I said the course was so exciting I wanted to take learn more on the topic.

The teacher said nothing.

Not one word.

Absolute silence.

I don’t think I could have been more shocked or more hurt if the teacher had kicked me. Her silence felt like a total rejection of the value of my learning, my values, and me.

If that’s a sample of how that teacher responds to students who are learning interesting things outside her classroom, I’m awfully glad I’m not her student.

1 Comment

Filed under Teachers

One response to “When Learning Gets the Silent Treatment

  1. I find this happens too often. I’m excited about change, about better ways to engage my kids. I always want to share what I’ve leaned or discovered.

    Like

Leave a Comment

