Challenges writing teachers face

Teachers who sign up for my monthly ezine are invited to complete a short survey about their teaching experience. The form gives them a place to add comments anonymously about whatever is on their minds.  Their comments provide a glimpse into the challenges of being a writing teacher. [The ezine is no longer published.]

Comments are from teachers around the world, not just the US, although American teachers tend to make the most comments.

Here are comments from October.

I came to teaching as a third career and earned alternate certification after teaching for three years. While my formal preparation to TEACH WRITING was less than average, I had multiple college and business opportunities in which to hone my own writing, and a voracious appetite to learn how to teach it. Save for high school and college instruction in English, all of my knowledge has been gained through self-study.  ~ from a private school teacher with  5-9 years’ experience teaching writing.

I teach special education resource students. Most of these 7th grade students read at a 3rd to 4th grade level. Some are reading at a second grade level. ~ from a public school teacher with 1-4 years’ experience teaching writing

I teach resource special ed students [ages 13-15] who have a 3-4 grade reading level. ~ from a public school teacher with 5-9 years’ experience teaching writing

Content specific strategies needed.  ~ from a public school teacher with less than 1 year’s experience teaching writing.

I’m under the STAAR testing and I was given this class a week before students walked in the door. I was told, “You’ll do a great job!” with nothing to go by and we are in the 9th week and I don’t feel that I’m doing any justice to the students.  ~ from a public school teacher with less than 1 year experience teaching writing.

I teach in a bilingual program (6, 7, and 8) graders Language Arts and Social Studies in a Title I district. Any help would be appreciated. ~ from a public school teacher with 1-4 years’ experience teaching writing

My classes are VERY small: 3-6 students each. I am a writer myself, but knowing how to write, and writing well, is very different than teaching writing! ~ from a private school teacher with less than 1 year’s experience teaching writing

With the common core standards I need to become a better teacher of writing so my students become better writers!~ from a public school teacher with 5-9 years’ experience teaching writing

With the Common Core and all it entails I am hoping for as much help in the area of writing for my students as possible. ~ from a public school teacher with 16 or more years’ experience teaching writing

I’ve shared other comments from teachers  earlier this year.

[link updated 3/11/2014. ]

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching writing

Leave a Comment

